A CALL TO PERSEVERANCE

IN FOCUS: A CALL TO PERSEVERANCE

Sometimes you need hang in and stand it through. In the films of this focus programme we get to know the stories of people who are partly forced to wait, partly to resist. What they all have in common is that higher political powers shape their life situations: In A new Era, the inhabitants of an island in the Zhujiang River in Guangzhou, who have been resisting forced resettlement for more than ten years, are still endangered by new urban development projects.

Nimble Fingers addresses the powerlessness and dependence of female migrant labourers. They working under precarious conditions in the factories of large international technology corporations in order to feed their families and to lead a better life in a not yet foreseeable future. In Ghiaccio – Sweeping Lives we experience what it means for six refugees from Gambia and Sierra Leone to be condemned to waiting in Europe. But the men don’t want to put their lives on hold while waiting for a self-determined life involving work and a residene permits and instead start a curling team. 

On the arduous path back to an orderly life, in A House in Pieces we accompany a family from Marawi on the Philippines who had to flee after an attack by the so-called IS and is now trying to rebuild a new old home in the ruins of a city destroyed in combat. 21 Days Inside tells a completely different aspect of being at somebody’s mercy. It is the story of a female Bedouin who is accused of murdering her son and is confronted with corrupt methods used by the male police officers during interrogations. How will she cope with the pressure of this Kafkaesque situation, marked by racist prejudices and patriarchal power ideas?


FILMS

21 DAYS INSIDE

21 DAYS INSIDE

Zohar Wagner | Israel 2019 | 65 Min. | OmeU
A HOUSE IN PIECES

A HOUSE IN PIECES

Manuel Domes, Jean Claire Dy | Philippines 2020 | 65 Min.
A NEW ERA

A NEW ERA

Boris Svartzman | China, France 2019 | 72 Min. | OmeU
GHIACCIO SWEEPING LIVES

GHIACCIO SWEEPING LIVES

Tomaso Clavarino | Italy 2019 | 70 Min. | OmeU
NIMBLE FINGERS

NIMBLE FINGERS

Parsifal Reparato | Vietnam, Italy 2018 | 52 Min. | OmeU

A CALL TO PERSEVERANCE

IM FOKUS: A CALL TO PERSEVERANCE

Manchmal braucht man einen langen Atem. In den Filmen dieses Fokusprogramms lernen wir die Geschichten von Menschen kennen, die teils zum Warten, teils zum Widerstand gezwungen sind. Allen gemein ist, dass höhere politische Mächte ihre Lebenssituationen prägen. So ergeht es in A new Era jenen BewohnerInnen einer Insel im Fluss Zhujiang in Guangzhou, deren Heimat durch neue Stadtentwicklungsprojekte gefährdet ist, die aber den Anweisungen zur Zwangsumsiedlung entgegentreten und so schon über zehn Jahre Widerstand leisten. 

Nimble Fingers thematisiert die Ohnmacht und Abhängigkeit von vietnamesischen Wanderarbeiterinnen, die unter prekären Bedingungen in den Fabriken großer internationaler Technologiekonzerne arbeiten, um ihre Familien ernähren zu können, und um sich selbst einmal in noch nicht absehbarer Zeit ein besseres Leben zu ermöglichen. In Ghiaccio – Sweeping Lives erleben wir, was es für sechs Flüchtlinge aus Gambia und Sierra Leone in Europa bedeutet, zum Warten verdammt zu sein. Doch die Männer wollen nicht tatenlos auf ein selbstbestimmtes Leben mit Arbeits- und Aufenthaltserlaubnis warten und gründen ein Curlingteam. 

Auf dem beschwerlichen Weg zurück in ein geordnetes Leben begleiten wir in A House in Pieces eine Familie, die aus Marawi auf den Philippinen nach einem Angriff durch den sogenannten IS fliehen musste und nun versucht, sich ein neues altes Zuhause in den Trümmern der umkämpften Stadt aufzubauen. Einen ganz anderen Aspekt des Ausgeliefertseins erzählt 21 Days Inside mit der persönlichen Geschichte einer Beduinin, die als Mutter des Mordes an ihrem Sohn bezichtigt wird und sich in den Verhören mit unlauteren Methoden seitens der männlichen Polizisten konfrontiert sieht. Wie wird sie mit dem Druck dieser kafkaesken Situation, geprägt von rassistischen Vorurteilen und patriarchalen Machtvorstellungen, umgehen können?


FILME

21 DAYS INSIDE

21 DAYS INSIDE

Zohar Wagner | Israel 2019 | 65 Min. | OmeU
A HOUSE IN PIECES

A HOUSE IN PIECES

Manuel Domes, Jean Claire Dy | Philippinen 2020 | 65 Min. | OmeU
A NEW ERA

A NEW ERA

Boris Svartzman | China, Frankreich 2019 | 72 Min. | OmeU
GHIACCIO SWEEPING LIVES

GHIACCIO SWEEPING LIVES

Tomaso Clavarino | Italien 2019 | 70 Min. | OmeU
NIMBLE FINGERS

NIMBLE FINGERS

Parsifal Reparato | Vietnam, Italien 2018 | 52 Min. | OmeU