Awards

Award Competitions and Winning Films 2020

IDA – International Documentary Award

IDA celebrates documentary film as a dynamic art form and honours its rich diversity: here the format has no limits and submissions from classic to animated documentary formats are equally welcome. This competition category is dedicated to outstanding works that go beyond the factual communication of content and stimulate a reflexive and innovative analysis of human lifeworlds and societies. Films from any region and on any subject are welcome, as long as people are at the center of their focus. Prize money: EUR 1.000.-

• International documentaries, traditional to experimental
• Length: min. 45 minutes

IDA JURY AND NOMINEES 2020

Winner 2020

ARGUMENTS
by Emmanuelle Manck, Olivier Zabat | Great Britain, France 2019 | 108 Min. | OmeU

Arguments is a fascinating film that depicts a novel therapeutic approach to the otherwise stigmatized experience of hearing voices, an experience typically attributed in psychiatry to schizophrenia. With the clear trust and collaboration of the film’s protagonists, the filmmakers humanely explore this phenomenon as a misunderstood part of human experience, but without trivializing the ways in hearing voices can be frightening, disorienting and difficult to assimilate to social life. The filmmakers manage to creatively make audible and relatable an experience that is otherwise internal and difficult to understand and have thus made an important contribution to nonfiction cinema in subject as well as form.


EVA – Excellence in Visual Anthropology Award

This competition reflects the diversity of ethnographic films and honors outstanding achievements and innovative works that contribute to a progressive understanding of Visual Anthropology. Films made within academic research as well as independent productions will be accepted. Traditional and experimental methods and approaches are equally welcome, as long as they correspond to anthropological principles in perspective and style. Prize money: EUR 1.000.-

• Innovative films in the field of Visual Anthropology
• Length: min. 45 minutes

EVA JURY AND NOMINEES 2020

Winner 2020

A NEW ERA
by Boris Svartzman | China, France 2019 | 72 Min.

In Boris Svartzman’s ‘New Era’ we become intimately acquainted with the people of Guanzhou, a river island community in Southern China. Guanzhou is destined to become an eco-parc for the inhabitants of the rapidly encroaching suburbs of a big city. In stunningly beautiful shots, the film registers the villagers’ stubborn resistance to be eradicated in this mega gentrification project. Svartzman is a gifted storyteller, as he skilfully moves from the micro settings where he is present to the larger issues that inform the acts of resistance we witness. Highlighting the affective dimensions of the villagers living precarious lives in a situation of imminent uncertainty, their rage, anger, fear, generosity and wisdom become tangible. And yet, the story goes beyond simplified depictions of justified resistance by showing the complex social dynamics that arise in the face of disempowering circumstances and sheer injustice. The filmmaker is another actor in the story. There is clearly a relationship of trust and complicity, perhaps stemming from his long-term engagement with the community over seven years. He also seems very attune to the dangers that come with the camera and he is clearly careful and sensitive not to compromise the villagers. The contrast the images create of ‘old’ and ‘new’ worlds, and the way protagonists are portrayed (with all their contradictions) truly evoke the complexities of life and living at the margins of global economies.

Honorable Mention

CRACKS
by Dimitra Kofti | Bulgaria, Germany 2018 | 55 Min. 

The film ‘Cracks’ gives us a sense of the social and spatial dimensions of a “post-socialist,” “after democracy”-society in Pernik, a small town of Bulgaria, which was once at the heart of soviet industrialisation. It is a testament of a city and its people stuck in between economic systems and ideological eras and yet very much in transformation. The anthropologist Dimitrova Kofti offers a compelling collage of different protagonists and generations and their trajectories amidst broader global and transnational processes in the region. It conveys people’s sense of disillusion and nostalgia for distant pasts and alternative futures. Each of the protagonists tells a micro-(hi)story that makes up a coherent overall film. Interlacing symbolically powerful images and stories of the past and present, the film draws out continuities, disruptions, and silent transformations of people’s lives, their city, and their imagined futures.

Honorable Mention

ZAGROS
by Ariane Lorrain, Shahab Mihandoust | Iran, Canada 2018 | 58 Min.

Zagros is a beautiful film on the ancient craft of carpet-making that the filmmakers elegantly interweave with the lives of its makers. The directors succeed in using the filmic medium to communicate a complex and colourful visual ethnography, that masterfully weaves together the production process and the everyday lives of its makers in ways that resemble the skilled fingers of the carpet-weavers, who weave together the threads in the film’s opening scene. The film made us forget the criteria we set for the EVA award and although it left us with some questions like who is behind this camera, it also made us question our questions. With a camera clearly in love with the world in front of it, eager to capture colour, texture, movement and song, this is a film that essentially manages to communicate intimacy, agency and humour, through sensory experiences of the everyday and giving the audience a sense of place and of being in the world. 


ADA – Austrian Documentary Award

To promote Austrian Documentaries an international jury selects the best Austrian documentary film. Films with a minimum length of 45 minutes can be submitted for this category either if they are produced by an Austrian production company or if the director lives and/or works in Austria. Prize money: EUR 1.000.-

• Films by Austrian production companies or by directors with residence in Austria
• Length: min. 45 minutes

ADA JURY AND NOMINEES 2020

Winner 2020

WEIYENA – THE LONG MARCH HOME
by Judith Benedikt, Weina Zhao | Austria, China 2019 | 96 Min. | OmeU

A relentless journey into the past made on the long road to oneself. A young woman, two worlds, a manoeuvre through the memories of parents and grandparents who experienced and survived the dictatorship of Mao Zedong. Through each frame runs the ambition to live up to these stories as well as to the people who tell or withhold them. Hereby, rather than sorting memories, film takes on the task of examining the past, present and their simultaneousness. Raw, sometimes fraying, this documentary analysis repeatedly leads to moments of great density and touching comedy. For example, in the scene in which the family stages a communal cooking and the grandmother misses her entrance again and again. Or in the conversation with the same grandmother whose Mao Zedong figure on the shelf seems not to correspond with her critical statements about his regime.
The jury bestows this year’s ADA Award to a film that does not strive for technical perfection. It risks confronting the protagonist with her history of origin and succeeds as a highly sensitive analysis. The sensitivity within this perspectivity also surfaces when the film tells about the family’s migration story that is cinematic on several levels. By interweaving her film material with archival footage of two previous generations, the filmmaker gives account about film production in bygone decades in a fragmented manner. As a result, complicated entanglements, contradictory references and potential meanings are brought into view. 

Honorable Mention

SOLO
by Artemio Benki | Argentina, Czech Republic, France, Austria 2019 | 85 Min.

Conducted with narrational precision and attention to detail, Solotakes us through the life of Martin, a young piano virtuoso who was committed to the Argentinean psychiatric hospital El Borda after he collapsed four years ago. Because of the organic film language of the director Artemio Benki, we gain insight into Martin’s life, his treatment of schizophrenia and his efforts to reintegrate into the world outside the institution. By the means of sometimes almost lyrical dialogues between Martin and his psychotherapist, touching depictions of friendship and a skillful use of sound – for example, when every puff on Martin’s cigarette becomes an heavy acoustic experience – the film tells about the dilemma of not being able to detach from one’s dreams in artful images.
Solo isa successful piece of work, which, through elegant narrative guidance and in just a few words, draws a complex world in which we all can somehow recognise ourselves. In addition to the ADA Award 2020, the jury wants to bestow a special mention to a film that, while watching it, conveys the viewer the feeling of reading the plot and protagonists between the lines. In retrospect, this can be identified as a subtly orchestrated, creative decision.


ISA – International Shorts Award

The International Shorts Award (ISA) pays well-deserved attention to the genre of short films within the festival program. Nominated documentaries stand out due to their range of subjects and show the dynamics and expressive possibilities of the short film format. Submissions to this category cannot be longer than 45 minutes. Apart from this formal requirement, there are no limits to their audio-visual style. The audience will elect the winning film of this competition. Prize money: EUR 500.-

• International short documentaries, traditional to experimental
• Length: max. 30 minutes

ISA JURY AND NOMINEES 2020

Winner 2020

THOSE WHO WAIT
by Steph Beeston | Philippines, Great Britain 2019 | 20 Min. | OmeU

As Jury of the „Ethnocineca“ ISA Award we are very glad to give the award to Stephanie Beestons Film „Those who wait“. „Those who wait“ is an impressive film about a family and their struggle living on a graveyard in Manila and shows us in the most sensible way the coexistance of life and death. The calm and unobtrusive filmmakers view gives an outstanding and nevertheless joyful impression of the unusual everyday life of the acteurs and their hopes and sorrows. The reasoned approach and strong sense for style and composition in sound, music as well as image, accomplishes a precious contribution to documentary cinema.


ESSA – Ethnocineca Student Shorts Award

Young talents – Big cinema! With ESSA, ethnocineca attends to the multifaceted inspiration of young documentary filmmaking. The award not only presents an international platform for young filmmakers but allows the participants to discuss their works with more established filmmakers and a large festival audience. Student works and first works from the documentary field and ethnographic filmmaking with a maximum length of 30 minutes can enter this competition. ESSA is an audience award. Prize money: EUR 500.-

• Student works and first works
• Length: max. 30 minutes

ESSA JURY AND NOMINEES 2020

Winner 2020

ABOUT LOVE ON A SMALL ISLAND 
by Elaheh Habibi | Iran, Great Britain 2018 | 26 Min.

This is a wonderful, rich and complex film which constitutes an outstanding example of what ethnographic documentary can do. Exploring the relations between a man and his two wives in Qeshm Island (Iran), in their everyday life and interactions, the film presents an insightful, intimate and sincere account of the lives and loves of the protagonists. Focusing on the everyday and the mundane, instead of spectacular or emblematic aspects of the story, and defying easy moral conclusions, the filmmaker achieves to document the incredible complexity of the protagonists views and feelings, in their emotional and household arrangements. And, in turn, it makes the viewer reflect on her own stereotypes and preoccupations.

Honorable Mention

THE OUTLANDER
by Ani Antonova | Austria 2018 | 5 Min.

A film that defies easy categorisation and is playfully experimenting with form and genres, and delivering an ethnographically rich narrative. We would love to see more such experimentation in the future.

Awards

Die Wettbewerbe und Gewinnerfilme 2020

IDA – International Documentary Award

IDA feiert den Dokumentarfilm als eine dynamische Kunstform und macht diesen in aller Fülle erfahrbar: hier ist dem Format keine Grenze gesetzt – vom klassischen bis zum animierten Dokumentarfilm sind alle Filmformate willkommen. Es werden herausragende Werke honoriert, die über das sachliche Vermitteln von Inhalten hinausgehen und nachdrücklich zu einer reflexiven und undogmatischen Auseinandersetzung mit menschlichen Lebensrealitäten und der Gesellschaft anregen. Preisgeld: EUR 1.000.-

•   Internationale Dokumentarfilme, klassisch bis experimentell
•   Länge: ab 45 Minuten 

IDA JURY UND NOMINIERTE FILME 2020

Gewinner 2020

ARGUMENTS
von Emmanuelle Manck, Olivier Zabat | Großbritannien, Frankreich 2019 | 108 Min. | OmeU

Arguments ist ein faszinierender Film, der einen neuartigen therapeutischen Ansatz für die ansonsten stigmatisierte Erfahrung des Stimmenhörens darstellt, eine Erfahrung, die in der Psychiatrie typischerweise der Schizophrenie zugeschrieben wird. Mit  eindeutigem Vertrauen und in Zusammenarbeit mit den ProtagonistInnen des Films, untersuchen die Filmemacher dieses Phänomen etwa als missverstandenen Teil der menschlichen Erfahrung, aber ohne dabei zu banalisieren, dass das Hören von Stimmen beängstigend und desorientierend sein kann und es schwierig ist, diese in ein soziales Leben zu integrieren. Den Filmemachern gelingt es auf kreative Weise, eine ansonsten interne und für andere schwer verständliche Erfahrung hörbar und nachvollziehbar zu machen und damit sowohl thematisch als auch formal einen wichtigen Beitrag  zum nicht-fiktionalen Kino zu leisten.


EVA – Excellence in Visual Anthropology Award

Dieser Wettbewerb trägt der Vielfalt des ethnographischen Films Rechnung. Er honoriert jene Werke, die zu einem progressiven Verständnis der Visuellen Anthropologie beitragen. Das können Filme sein, die im Rahmen von Forschungen entstanden sind, aber auch eigenständige Werke. Traditionelle wie experimentelle Methoden und Zugänge sind gleichermaßen gern gesehen. Preisgeld: EUR 1.000.-

•   Innovative Filme aus dem Bereich der Visuellen Anthropologie
•   Länge: ab 45 Minuten

EVA JURY UND NOMINIERTE FILME 2020

Gewinner 2020

A NEW ERA
von Boris Svartzman | China, Frankreich 2019 | 72 Min.

In Boris Svartzmans „A new Era“ lernen wir die Menschen in Guangzhou, einer Flussinselgemeinde in Südchina, kennen. Die Insel in Guangzhou ist dazu bestimmt, ein Öko-Park für die BewohnerInnen der schnell wachsenden Vororte einer Großstadt zu werden. In atemberaubend schönen Einstellungen begleitet der Film den hartnäckigen Widerstand der DorfbewohnerInnen, von diesem Mega-Gentrifizierungsprojekt ausgerottet zu werden. Svartzman ist ein begabter Geschichtenerzähler, der sich gekonnt von den Mikroeinstellungen, in denen er anwesend ist, zu den größeren Themen bewegt, die die Widerstandshandlungen beeinflussen. Durch die Hervorhebung der vielfältigen Gefühlsebenen der DorfbewohnerInnen, die ein prekäres Leben in einer Situation unmittelbar bevorstehender Unsicherheit führen, werden ihre Wut, Angst, Großzügigkeit und Weisheit greifbar. Und doch geht die Geschichte über eine vereinfachte Darstellungen gerechtfertigten Widerstands hinaus, indem sie die komplexe soziale Dynamik zeigt, die sich angesichts von Enteignungen und Ungerechtigkeit ergibt. Der Filmemacher ist ein weiterer Akteur in der Geschichte. Es besteht eindeutig ein tiefes Vertrauensverhältnis und eine Komplizenschaft, die möglicherweise auf sein langfristiges Engagement für die Gemeinschaft über sieben Jahre zurückzuführen ist. Er scheint auch sehr auf die Gefahren eingestellt zu sein, die mit der Kamera verbunden sind, und er ist eindeutig vorsichtig und sensibel, um die DorfbewohnerInnen nicht zu gefährden. Der Kontrast, den die Bilder von „alten“ und „neuen“ Welten erzeugen, und die Art und Weise, wie ProtagonistInnen (mit all ihren Widersprüchen) dargestellt werden, heben aufrichtig die Komplexität des Lebens und des Lebens am Rande der Weltwirtschaft hervor.

Honorable Mention

CRACKS
von Dimitra Kofti | Bulgarien, Deutschland 2018 | 55 Min.  

Der Film „Cracks“ vermittelt einen Eindruck von den sozialen und räumlichen Dimensionen einer „postsozialistischen“ „nach der Demokratie“ -Gesellschaft in Pernik, einer kleinen Stadt in Bulgarien, die einst im Zentrum der sowjetischen Industrialisierung stand. Es ist ein Testament einer Stadt und ihrer Menschen, die zwischen Wirtschaftssystemen und ideologischen Epochen stehen und sich dennoch stark im Wandel befinden. Die Anthropologin Dimitra Kofti kreiert eine überzeugende Kollage verschiedener ProtagonistInnen und Generationen und ihrer Flugbahnen inmitten breiterer globaler und transnationaler Prozesse in der Region. Sie vermittelt das Gefühl der Desillusionierung und Nostalgie der Menschen für eine ferne Vergangenheit und eine alternative Zukunft. Jede und jeder der ProtagonistInnen erzählt eine Mikro-Geschichte die gemeinsam einen zusammenhängenden Gesamtfilm ausmachen. Der Film verbindet symbolisch kraftvolle Bilder und Geschichten aus Vergangenheit und Gegenwart und zeigt Kontinuitäten, Brüche und stille Veränderungen des Lebens der Menschen, ihrer Stadt und ihrer imaginären Zukunft.

Honorable Mention

ZAGROS
von Ariane Lorrain, Shahab Mihandoust | Iran, Kanada 2018 | 58 min  

Zagros ist ein wunderschöner Film über das alte Handwerk der Teppichherstellung, das die FilmemacherInnen elegant mit dem Leben ihrer MacherInnen verweben. Den RegisseurInnen gelingt es, über das Medium Film eine komplexe und farbenfrohe visuelle Ethnographie zu kommunizieren, die den Produktionsprozess und den Alltag ihrer MacherInnen meisterhaft miteinander verbindet, auf eine Weise, die den geschickten Fingern der Teppichweberinnen ähnelt, wenn sie die Fäden zusammenweben in der Eröffnungsszene des Films. Der Film ließ uns die Kriterien vergessen, die wir für den EVA-Preis festgelegt hatten, und obwohl wir einige Fragen hatten, wie z. B. wer hinter dieser Kamera steht, stellten wir auch unsere Fragen. Mit einer Kamera, die eindeutig in die Welt vor ihr verliebt ist und Farbe, Textur, Bewegung und Gesang einfangen möchte, ist dies ein Film, der es im Wesentlichen schafft, Intimität, Entscheidungsfreiheit und Humor durch sensorische Erfahrungen des Alltags zu vermitteln und dem Publikum ein Gefühl des Ortes und des Seins in der Welt ermöglicht.


ADA – Austrian Documentary Award

Zur Stärkung des heimischen Dokumentarfilms kürt eine international besetzte Jury den besten österreichischen Film. Zur Einreichung in dieser Kategorie berechtigt sind Filme ab einer Länge von mindestens 45 Minuten, welche von einer österreichischen Produktionsfirma produziert wurden, beziehungsweise von einem/einer FilmemacherIn mit Lebensmittelpunkt in Österreich gemacht wurden. Preisgeld: EUR 1.000.-

•  Österreichische Produktionen, bzw. Filme von RegisseurInnen mit Lebensmittelpunkt in Österreich
•  Länge: Mindestens 45 Minuten

ADA JURY UND NOMINIERTE FILME 2020

Gewinner 2020

WEIYENA – THE LONG MARCH HOME
von Judith Benedikt, Weina Zhao | Österreich, China 2019 | 96 Min. | OmeU

Eine schonungslose Reise in die Vergangenheit auf dem langen Weg zu sich selbst. Eine junge Frau, zwei Welten, ein Manöver durch die Erinnerungsnetze von Eltern und Großeltern, die die Diktatur Mao Zedongs erlebt und überlebt haben. Durch jedes Bild dringt das Anliegen, den Geschichten und Menschen, die sie erzählen und verschweigen, bestmöglich gerecht zu werden. Film hat hier weniger die Aufgabe, Erinnerung zu sortieren, sondern triggert die Auseinandersetzung mit Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und deren Gleichzeitugkeiten. Roh, manchmal ausfransend, führt die dokumentarische Außeinandersetzung immer wieder zu Momenten großer Dichtheit und berührender Komik. So etwa in der Szene, in der die Familie gemeinsames Kochen performt und die Großmutter wieder und wieder ihren Auftritt verpasst. Oder im Gespräch mit derselben Großmutter deren Mao-Zedong-Figur im Regal, nicht zu ihren kritischen Aussagen über das Regime zu passen scheint.
Die Jury vergibt den diesjährigen ADA Preis an einen Film, der technisch nicht nach Perfektion strebt, aber das Wagnis einer Konfrontation der eigenen Herkunftsgeschichte ernst nimmt und dem eine hochsensible Auseinandersetzung gelingt. Diese Sensibilität in der Perspektivierung ist auch da am Werk, wo der Filmdie Migrationsgeschichte der Familie erzählt, deren Geschichte auf mehreren Ebenen auch eine Kino-Geschichte ist.Die Filmemacherin verwebt die archivierten Filmbilder zweier Generationen vor ihr mit den Bildern ihres Films und lässt diese fragmentiert vom Filmschaffen längst vergangener Jahrzehnte erzählen, so kommen komplizierte Verstrickungen, widersprüchliche Bezugnahmen sowie latente Bedeutungen in den Blick.

Honorable Mention

SOLO
von Artemio Benki | Argentinien, Tschechien, Frankreich, Österreich 2019 | 85 Min.

Dirigiert mit erzählerischer Präzision und mit Liebe zum Detail trägt uns Solo durch das Leben von Martin, einem jungen Pianovirtuosen, der nach seinem Zusammenbruch vor vier Jahren in die argentinische Psychiatrie  El Borda eingewiesen wurde. Durch die organische Filmsprache des Regisseurs Artemio Benki bekommen wir einen Einblick in Martins Leben, seinem Umgang mit Schizophrenie und seine Bemühungen um eine Reintegration in die Welt außerhalb der Institution. Sowohl in den manchmal fast lyrisch wirkenden Dialogen zwischen Martin und seinem Psychotherapeuten, in berührenden Darstellungen von Freund*innnenschaft, aber auch im geschickten Einsatz von Ton, wenn etwa jeder Zug an Martins Zigarette zu einem beklemmenden akustischen Erlebnis wird, erzählt der Film in kunstvollen Bildern vom Dilemma, sich nicht von seinen Träumen lösen zu können. Solo ist ein gelungenes Werk, das durch elegante narrative Führung und mit wenigen Worten eine komplexe Welt zeichnet, in der wir uns vermutlich alle irgendwie wiedererkennen können. Zusätzlich zum ADA Filmpreis 2020 vergibt die Jury eine lobende Erwähnung an einen Film, der beim Zusehen das Gefühl vermittelt, Plot und Protagonisten zwischen den Zeilen zu lesen, das wird jedoch im Rückblick als subtil orchestrierte, gestalterische Entscheidung kenntlich


ISA – International Shorts Award

Der International Shorts Award (ISA) verhilft dem Kurzfilm im Rahmen des Festivals zu seiner ihm gebührenden Aufmerksamkeit. Die nominierten Dokumentarfilme zeichnen sich durch ihre breite Themenstreuung aus und zeigen die Dynamiken und expressiven Möglichkeiten des Kurzfilmformats auf. Abgesehen von dem formalen Kriterium einer Länge von unter 45 Minuten sind auch hier den audiovisuellen Ausdrucksformen keine Grenzen gesetzt. In diesem Wettbewerb entscheidet das Publikum über den Gewinnerfilm. Preisgeld: EUR 500.-

•   Internationale Kurzdokumentarfilme, klassisch bis experimentell
•   Länge: max. 30 Minuten

ISA JURY UND NOMINIERTE FILME 2020

Gewinner 2020

THOSE WHO WAIT
von Steph Beeston | Philippinen, Großbritannien 2019 | 20 Min. | OmeU

Wir die Jury des ISA Awards freuen uns mitteilen zu dürfen, dass wir uns für den Film „Those who wait“ von Stephanie Beeston als Preisträger entschieden haben. „Those who wait“ ist ein beeindruckender Film über eine Familie und deren Leben auf einem Friedhof in Manila. Der Film führt uns auf eine sensible Art das Nebeneinander von Tod und Leben vor Augen. Durch den zurückhaltenden und unaufgeregten Blick der Filmemacherin entfalten sich spannende Mikrogeschichten, die einen an der ungewöhnlichen Alltäglichkeit des Lebens am Friedhof und den Hoffnungen, Sorgen und Problemen der Akteur*innen teilhaben lassen. Der ruhige Zugang und starke Sinn für Gestaltung überzeugt in Bild, Ton und Musik und macht den Film so zu einem wertvollen Beitrag für das non-fiktionale Kino.


ESSA – Ethnocineca Student Shorts Award

Junge Talente – Großes Kino! Mit ESSA feiert die ETHNOCINECA die vielfältigen Impulse des jungen Dokumentarfilmschaffens. Der Award stellt nicht nur eine internationale Plattform für junge FilmemacherInnen dar, sondern ermöglicht es den TeilnehmerInnen ihre Werke Seite an Seite mit etablierten FilmemacherInnen und einem großen Festivalpublikum zu diskutieren. Gefragt sind studentische Arbeiten und Erstlingswerke aus dem Dokumentarfilmbereich sowie dem ethnographischen Film mit einer maximalen Länge von bis zu 30 Minuten. ESSA ist ein Publikumsaward. Preisgeld: EUR 500.-

•   Studentische Werke und Erstlingswerke
•   Länge: max. 30 Minuten

ESSA JURY UND NOMINIERTE FILME 2020

Gewinner 2020

ABOUT LOVE ON A SMALL ISLAND 
von Elaheh Habibi | Iran, Großbritannien 2018 | 26 Min.

About Love on a small Island ist ein wunderbarer, reichhaltiger und komplexer Film, der ein herausragendes Beispiel dafür ist, was ein ethnografischer Dokumentarfilm leisten kann. Der Film erforscht die Beziehungen zwischen einem Mann und seinen beiden Frauen auf der Insel Qeshm (Iran), in ihrem Alltag und ihren Interaktionen. Er präsentiert eine aufschlussreiche, intime und aufrichtige Darstellung des Lebens und der Liebe der ProtagonistInnen. Die Filmemacherin konzentriert sich auf das Alltägliche statt auf spektakuläre oder emblematische Aspekte der Geschichte, und trotz einfacher moralischer Schlussfolgerungen gelingt es ihr, die unglaubliche Komplexität der Ansichten und Gefühle der ProtagonistInnen in ihren emotionalen und häuslichen Arrangements zu dokumentieren. Und im Gegenzug bringt sie die ZuschauerInnen dazu, über eigene Stereotypen und Vorurteile nachzudenken.

Honorable Mention

THE OUTLANDER
von Ani Antonova | Österreich 2018 | 5 Min.

The Outlander ist ein Film, der sich einer einfachen Kategorisierung entzieht, der spielerisch mit Formen und Genres experimentiert und eine ethnographisch reichhaltige Erzählung liefert. Wir würden uns wünschen, in Zukunft mehr solcher Experimente zu sehen.