Side Programme

SIDE PROGRAMME 2020

KEYNOTE PROF. MATTIJS VAN DE PORT

SENSING THE MESS

Long before I became a filmmaking anthropologist, I had been questioning the conventions of academic text-making, which, as John Law put it, seek to ‘distort reality into clarity’. Clarity was exactly what was absent in the places I studied: war-ridden Serbia, where so many lives ended in the mud, and the temples of Afro-Brazilian Candomblé, with their possession rituals and bloody altars. These places where a mess, and I might add: flauntingly so. The academic dictum that the best way to understand them required the sorting out and cleaning up of that mess just did not make sense. The mess ought to be addressed as such.  

I found film to be a medium that is far more hospitable to the messiness of the world. In this video-talk, I will discuss (and show) how I have used film to introduce mess in my work. Initially by following the examples of “delinguified” sensory films that came out of the Harvard Sensory Ethnography Lab; yet soon – for reasons to be explained – reintroducing the word as proposed in the genre of the essay film.

Keynote held in English


Distribute! Ethnographic Films – ONLINE CONFERENCE

The recording of the live-stream will be available on our website from Friday 8th of May.

Distribute 2020 is a virtual anthropology conference streaming audio-visual panels and live nodes. Organised by the Society for Cultural Anthropology (SCA) and the Society für Visual Anthropology (SVA), the theme – #Distribute – attends to contemporary anthropological and visual practices, theories, forms of distribution and redistribution, and seeks to re-distribute conventional conference formats. It is a hybrid experiment in creating community through a combination of virtual conferencing and in-person nodes.

Ethnographic film festivals have long been an important platform for the presentation of films produced by and with anthropologists and are committed to linking anthropologists to a wider audience. In this round-table, we explore the ways in which anthropological knowledge can reach the audience, and ask about the role of ethnographic film festivals in this process.

On May 8, the ethnocineca – International Documentary Film Festival Vienna and the Vienna Visual Anthropology Lab of the University of Vienna, organise a local Vienna Distribute node. With this publicly accessible session we continue to strengthen the Visual Anthropology community within Vienna, and internationally, despite the current situation of social distancing.

Panel Participants: Marie-Christine Hartig, Andy Lawrence, Viktoria Paar, Katja Seidel, Christos Varvantakis, Werner Zips; Chair: Sanderien Verstappen

Organised in cooperation with the Department of Cultural and Social Anthropology / University of Vienna


Masterclass: ‘Inner breath: filming the imaginary’

Based on his film Campo, which celebrates its Austrian Premiere at the ethnocineca, Tiago Hespanha examines the relationship between the real and the imaginary – a correlation that moves and feeds the cinematographic gesture. Hespanha proposes a wild journey through the process of making this film guided only by this initial question: how to shoot the imaginary?

We are happy to welcome Tiago Hespanha with his new film at this years’ ethnocineca. In 2015, he presented another film, Industrial Revolution, during our festival. This year his film Campo, which is nominated for the International Documentary Award (IDA), will be shown as part of our online programme.

Masterclass held in English 
In cooperation with Volksundemuseum Wien


Round Table: Waiting and Acting – The role of the camera in times of social upheaval

Unemployment, displacement and a lack of future prospects run alongside the promise of capitalism and economic progress. The two films Cracks and A new Era move between waiting and acting, questions of economic and social upheaval and the power of political narratives in documentary filmmaking amid (post-)socialist and capitalist realities.

Boris Svartzman has accompanied the residents of the city of Guangzhou for seven years in their resistance to displacement from their homes. They oppose the dislocation of the old quarter and the gentrification with its supposed economic and social promises. Cracks, in turn, presents the impact of historical and economic changes on post-Soviet / post-socialist realities. From the industrial rise and subsequent decline, Cracks accompanies the residents of the Bulgarian city of Pernik through a time of upheavals and change.

Boris Svartzman und Dimitra Kofti in conversation with Marie-Christine Hartig

Conversation in English.
In cooperation with Weltmuseum Wien und dok.at 


kontroversiell! FILM AND TALK – 21 DAYS INSIDE

dok.at in conversation with Zohar Wagner

The body of a two-year-old boy is found in the well of a Bedouin village. The mother is immediately suspected and arrested the same day. In order to force a confession, the interrogating police officers deliberately and shamelessly exploit the mother’s weaknesses during the twenty-one day detention. 21 Days Insideuses archive material from the police to process this complex and startling story. Interrogations from surveillance cameras and sound recordings from the cell, as well as drawings of re-enacted scenes tell the incident. The film impressively dissects topics of power, police violence and discrimination against women and ethnic minorities.

In the conversation that follows the screening, we discuss the working of structural violence and patriarchal ideas of power as well as the design of the film, that, intermixed with some animated sceens, builds almost exclusively on material provided by the executive forces.

Conversation in English.
In cooperation with dok.at


FILM & DISKUSSION: COMMANDER ARIAN

A conversation with Alba Sotorra and Helin Çelik

“How does a democratic experiment work that is carried out by women in middle of a war? What are the challenges of the presence of the female figure in a political context of armed conflict?

The discussion raises awareness for the resistance movement taking place in the cantons of Rojava (Northern Syria), where women participate on all levels of decision making in building a new society with rights for ethnic minorities, the freedom of religion, women’s rights and ecological principles in the middle of a war zone in the Middle East. It aims to reflect the complexity of Kurdish feminism and the armed resistance of women to abolish the state authority.

Discussion in English.
This programme was curated in collaboration with Helin Çelik


WORKSHOP “CINEMA OF THE SENSES” 

ZAGROS | Ariane Lorrain

Zagros, by Ariane Lorrain and Shahab Mihandoust, is a visually impressive example of the cinema of the senses. In a poetic style, it follows the creation of carpets across the Western mountains of Iran, the land of Bakhtiaris. Wool is the guiding thread that traverses nomadic and sedentary cultures, revealing the worlds of weavers, dyers and shepherds through their labour. Carpets weave the social fabric of their lives, giving it form as well as colour. The work is hard and is gradually being devalued by the outside world – but their lives are carried by the love they feel for their traditions. 

In this year’s workshop, Canadian-Iranian Filmmaker and Anthropologist Ariane Lorrain reveals the meaning of the cinema of the senses and carries us to discuss questions of sensory ethnography, audio-visual elicitation and the meaning of poetry and art as a means to open up cultural and social worlds, not through the spoken word but through an incorporated feeling of experience.

Workshop held in English.

Rahmenprogramm

RAHMENPROGRAMM 2020

KEYNOTE PROF. MATTIJS VAN DE PORT

SENSING THE MESS
Die Wahrnehmung des Chaos: Zum Sinn und den Sinnen im Dokumentarfilm

Schon bevor ich als Anthropologe die Kamera zu meinem Instrument machte, habe ich begonnen, die Konventionen des akademischen Schreibens in Frage zu stellen, die, wie John Law es ausdrückte, versuchen, „die Realität in Klarheit zu verzerren“. Klarheit war genau das, was an den Orten, die ich erforschte, fehlte: dem vom Krieg heimgesuchte Serbien, wo so viele Leben im Morast endeten, und den Tempeln des afro-brasilianischen Candomblé mit Besessenheitsritualen und blutigen Altären. Diese Orte waren pures Chaos, Chaos, das mit Stolz zur Schau getragen wurde. Das akademische Diktum, dass das Aussortieren und Aufräumen dieses Chaos der beste Weg wäre, sie zu verstehen, ergab einfach keinen Sinn. Das Chaos musste als solches wahrgenommen werden. Ich erkannte, dass Film ein Medium ist, das für die Unordnung der Welt weitaus einladender ist. 

In dieser Keynote erörtere ich, wie ich Film verwendet habe, um Chaos in meine Arbeit einzuführen. Beginnend mit Beispielen „sprachbefreiter“ sensorischer Filme, die aus dem Harvard Sensory Ethnography Lab stammen, führe ich schon bald wieder – aus Gründen, die noch zu erklären sein werden – das Wort ein, wie es im Genre des Essayfilms vorgeschlagen wurde.

Keynote in englischer Sprache.


Distribute! Ethnographic Films – ONLINE KONFERENZ

Die Aufzeichnung des Streams wird ab Freitag 8. Mai auf unserer Website verfügbar sein.

Distribute 2020 ist eine virtuelle Anthropologiekonferenz, in welcher audiovisuelle Panels und Live-Nodes gestreamt werden. 2020 befasst sich die von der Gesellschaft für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie (SCA) und der Gesellschaft für Visuelle Anthropologie (SVA) organisierte Konferenz #Distribute mit zeitgenössischen anthropologischen und visuellen Praktiken, Theorien, Formen der Verteilung und Umverteilung und versucht, konventionelle Konferenzen neu zu denken. Distribute 2020 ist eine kostengünstige, leicht zugängliche, klimaneutrale Konferenz, die den Weg ebnet das Mega-Konferenzmodell neu zu denken.

Ethnographische Filmfestivals sind seit langem eine wichtige Plattform für die Präsentation von Filmen, die von und mit AnthropologInnen produziert wurden und setzen sich dafür ein, Sozialanthropologie einem breiten Publikum zugänglich zu machen. In dieser Diskussionsrunde beleuchten wir, wie anthropologisches Wissen das Publikum erreichen kann, und fragen, welche Rolle ethnographische Filmfestivals in diesem Prozess einnehmen.

Am 8. Mai organisieren die ethnocineca – International Documentary Film Festival Wien und das Vienna Visual Anthropology Lab der Universität Wien einen lokalen Distributionsknoten in Wien. Mit diesem öffentlich zugänglichen Forum stärken wir die Gemeinschaft der visuellen Anthropologie in Wien und international und ermöglichen auch in der gegenwärtigen Situation, Gespräche und den Austausch aufrecht zu halten.

TeilnehmerInnen: Marie-Christine Hartig, Andy Lawrence, Viktoria Paar, Katja Seidel, Christos Varvantakis, Werner Zips; Moderation: Sanderien Verstappen

Organisiert in Kooperation mit dem Institut für Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie / Universität Wien


MASTERCLASS „INNERER ATEM: DAS IMAGINÄRE FILMEN“

Ausgehend von seinem Film Campo, der auf der ethnocineca Österreichpremiere feiert, untersucht Tiago Hespanha die Beziehung zwischen dem Realen und dem Imaginären. Ein Wechselverhältnis, das für ihn die cinematographische Geste bewegt und nährt. Er schlägt eine wilde Reise durch den Prozess vor, bei dem sein filmisches Schaffen nur von dieser ersten Frage geleitet wird:  Wie kann man das Imaginäre filmen?

Tiago Hespanha ist bereits mit seinem zweiten Film zu Gast der ethnocineca. 2015 war er bereits mit seinem Film Industrial Revolution im Festival vertreten. Dieses Jahr steht sein Film Campo, der für den International Documentary Award (IDA) nominiert ist, im Rahmen unseres online Programms acht Tage lang on demand  zur Verfügung.

Masterclass in englischer Sprache.
In Kooperation mit Volkskundemuseum Wien


DISKUSSION – Vom Warten und Handeln – Die Rolle der Kamera in Zeiten gesellschaftlicher Umbrüche

Marie-Christine Hartig im Gespräch mit Boris Svartzman und Dimitra Kofti

Arbeitslosigkeit, Verdrängung und fehlende Zukunftsperspektiven entlang der Verheißung von Kapitalismus und wirtschaftlichem Fortschritt. Zwischen Warten und Handeln, Fragen von ökonomischen und gesellschaftlichen Umbrüchen und der Kraft der politischen Erzählung im Dokumentarfilm bewegen sich die zwei Filme Cracks und A new Era inmitten (post-)sozialistischer und kapitalistischer Realitäten.

Sieben Jahre lang begleitet Boris Svartzman die BewohnerInnen der Millionenstadt Guangzhou in ihrem Widerstand gegen die behördlich angeordnete Vertreibung aus ihren Häusern. Sie stellen sich gegen den Abriss des alten Viertels und die vermeintlichen wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Vorteile der Gentrifizierung. In Cracks zeigt Dimitra Kofti die Auswirkungen der historischen und wirtschaftlichen Veränderungen der postsowjetischen Wirklichkeit auf. Vom industriellen Aufstieg samt darauffolgenden Niedergang begleitet ihr Film die BewohnerInnen der bulgarischen Stadt Pernik durch die Umbrüche der Zeit.

Boris Svartzman und Dimitra Kofti diskutieren mit Marie-Christine Hartig Fragen der ökonomischen und sozialen Umbrüche und erkunden die Kraft der politischen Narrative im Dokumentarfilm.

Gespräch in englischer Sprache.
In Kooperation mit Weltmuseum Wien und dok.at 


kontroversiell! Filmscreening 21 Days Inside mit anschließender Diskussion 

dok.at im Gespräch mit Zohar Wagner

Im Brunnen eines Beduinendorfes wird die Leiche eines zweijährigen Buben gefunden. Der Verdacht fällt sofort auf die Mutter, die noch am selben Tag verhaftet wird. Um ein Geständnis zu erzwingen, nutzen die verhörenden Polizisten während der einundzwanzigtägigen Untersuchungshaft bewusst und schamlos die Schwächen der Mutter aus. Zur Aufarbeitung dieser komplexen und aufrüttelnden Geschichte bedient sich 21 Days Inside an Archivmaterial der Polizei. Verhöre aus Überwachungskameras und Tonaufnahmen aus der Zelle, sowie Zeichnungen nachgestellter Szenen erzählen den Vorfall. Der Film seziert so in eindrücklicher Weise Themen von Macht, Polizeigewalt und der Diskriminierung von Frauen und ethnischen Minderheiten. 

Im Gespräch werden Fragen von struktureller Gewalt und patriarchalen Machtvorstellungen und auch die Machart des Films hinterfragt, in dem fast ausschließlich Material der Exekutive verwendet wurde. 

Gespräch in englischer Sprache.
In Kooperation mit dok.at


FILM & DISKUSSION: COMMANDER ARIAN

Ein Filmgespräch mit Alba Sotorra und Helin Çelik

Wie funktioniert ein demokratisches Experiment, das von Frauen mitten in einem Krieg durchgeführt wird und was sind die Herausforderungen der Präsenz einer Frau im politischen Kontext bewaffneter Konflikte?

Die Diskussion sensibilisiert für die Widerstandsbewegung in den Kantonen von Rojava (Nordsyrien), wo Frauen auf allen Ebenen der Entscheidungsfindung teilnehmen und eine neue Gesellschaft für die Rechte ethnischer Minderheiten, die Religionsfreiheit und die Frauenrechte aufbauen. Mit ökologischen Prinzipien mitten in einem Kriegsgebiet im Nahen Osten. Außerdem wird auf die Komplexität des kurdischen Feminismus und dem daraus folgenden bewaffneten Widerstand der Frauen eingegangen werden.

Diskussion in englischer Sprache.
Dieses Programm wurde in Kooperation mit Helin Çelik kuratiert. 


WORKSHOP “CINEMA OF THE SENSES” 

ZAGROS | Ariane Lorrain

Zagros von Ariane Lorrain und Shahab Mihandoust ist ein visuell beeindruckendes Beispiel für das Kino der Sinne. In einem poetischen Stil folgt der Film dem traditionellen Handwerk der Tapisserie in den westlichen Bergen des Iran, dem Land der Bakhtiaren. Wolle ist der Leitfaden, der nomadische und sesshafte Kulturen verbindet und die Welten der Weber, Färber und Hirten durch ihre Arbeit begleitet. Teppiche weben das soziale Gefüge ihres Lebens und geben ihm sowohl Form als auch Farbe. 

Im diesjährigen Workshop zu Cinema of the Senses enthüllt die kanadisch-iranische Filmemacherin und Anthropologin Ariane Lorrain die Bedeutung des Kinos der Sinne und diskutiert Fragen der sensorischen Ethnographie, der Wirkung von audiovisuellen Impulsen und der Bedeutung von Poesie und Kunst zur Erfahrung sozialer Welten, die nicht durch das gesprochene Wort, sondern durch ein verinnerlichtes Gefühl erkundet werden.

Workshop in englischer Sprache.