2022

ETHNOCINECA

International Documentary Film Festival Vienna 2022

Thursday 12th to Thursday 19th May 2022

Programme Folder (PDF in German)

We welcome you to the sixteenth edition of ethnocineca – International Documentary Film Festival Vienna. After two years of relocating to the virtual space due to the pandemic, we are happy to welcome you again in the cinema halls of the Votiv Kino and Kino De France! A rich and diverse film programme wants to be discovered by you, to be discussed with the attending filmmakers, and to be reflected upon in our side events. In addition, you can also explore an excerpt of our programme online.

With this year’s programme, ethnocineca shall once again contribute to bringing us closer to our multi-layered and complex, but at the same time unique and common world through the medium of film. This year’s festival theme Entangled Realities refers to the inseparability of global interconnections, historically grown relationships, and individual biographies. The curators have put together 57 short and feature-length films and designed an extensive side programme that invites an in-depth examination of the interconnectedness of the world across space and time as well as across cultural, political, and economic borders. For the first time, we will also feature a virtual reality film. The 360° documentary Water & Coltan invites you to not only engage with the topic of the environment, resources, and the climate catastrophe but also, with the help of VR glasses, to put yourselves right in the middle of the action.

In his Keynote Lecture Entangled Restitutions at the beginning of the festival week, Arnd Schneider discusses the position of film in the context of the restitution of museum objects and asks, “Can Film Restitute?”. In the Film Talk, filmmaker Yehuda Sharim speaks about his current feature-length film Letters2Maybe and the experiences of migrants in Houston, Texas. The conversation will focus on the artistic and collaborative approaches of his work and the importance of proximity and distance in long-term documentary projects. In this year’s Masterclass on Radiograph of a Family, filmmaker Firouzeh Khosrovani discusses her cinematic approach to working with archival material and how she has artistically reconnected historical developments with her personal family history. In the Panel Discussion Resources and the Body, Daniel Kötter and Olande Byamungu (Walter & Coltan) converse with Saaed Taji Farouky (A thousand Fires) about extractivism and the consequences of the ruthless exploitation of people and the environment.

On the final day of the festival, the Special Programme entitled Entangled Realities – Films in Conversation curated by Katarina Hedrén offers another highlight. Based on three short films from ethnocineca’s film selection, she opens a dialogue with three added feature-length works in which we explore aspects of the history of imperialism and postcolonialism. The evening will be accompanied by a Hybrid Round Table Discussion with the filmmakers of the programme, questioning notions of belonging, freedom, independence, and responsibility.

After a two-year break, the ethnocineca Film Workshop is back. The short films made and produced in our in-house film workshop will celebrate their premiere at the festival. We are also looking forward to a lively exchange with numerous directors of European anthropological film festivals, who will come to Vienna for a network meeting during the festival week. Finally, the festive highlight of ethnocineca 2022 will be the Award Ceremony on May 17, in which the winning films of the five competition categories will be honoured.

We want to thank the entire team who, even after two years of pandemic and the cuts that it produced for our festival, work with unwavering commitment and thus make it possible for ethnocineca 2022 to shine again in its former glory and with innovative innovations. We would also like to thank all filmmakers and jurors, all sponsors and partners for their valuable support!

We wish you a lot of fun while immersing yourself in the world of images on the big screens and a stimulating and touching film experience!

Marie-Christine Hartig, Martin Lintner, Katja Seidel

Plakat 2022

2022

ETHNOCINECA

International Documentary Film Festival Vienna 2022

Donnerstag 12. bis Donnerstag 19. Mai 2022

Programmheft (PDF)

Wir heißen Sie herzlich willkommen zur sechzehnten Ausgabe der ethnocineca – International Documentary Film Festival Vienna. Nach zwei Jahren pandemiebedingter Verlagerung in den virtuellen Raum freuen wir uns, Sie wieder in den Sälen des Votiv Kino und Kino De France begrüßen zu dürfen! Ein breit gefächertes Filmprogramm möchte von Ihnen entdeckt, mit den anwesenden Filmemacher*innen besprochen und in einem reichhaltigen Rahmenprogramm reflektiert werden. Darüber hinaus können Sie auch einen Auszug aus unserem Programm online erkunden.

Die ethnocineca möchte auch in diesem Jahr mit ihrem Programm einen Beitrag dazu leisten, uns und Ihnen unsere vielschichtige und komplexe, aber zugleich auch einzige und gemeinsame Welt durch das Medium Film näher zu bringen. Der diesjährige Programmschwerpunkt Entangled Realities nimmt Bezug auf die Untrennbarkeit globaler Verflechtungen, historisch gewachsener Beziehungen und individueller Biografien. Die Kurator*innen haben für Sie ein Programm aus 57 Kurz- und Langfilmen zusammengestellt und ein umfangreiches Rahmenprogramm gestaltet, das zu einer vertiefenden Auseinandersetzung mit der Verbundenheit der Welt über Raum und Zeit sowie über kulturelle, politische und ökonomische Grenzen hinweg einlädt. Erstmalig steht auch ein Virtual Reality Film am Programm der ethnocineca. Die 360° Dokumentation Water & Coltan lädt ein, sich mittels VR-Brille nicht nur mit dem Thema Umwelt, Ressourcen und Klimakatastrophe auseinanderzusetzen, sondern sich auch mitten in das Geschehen hineinzuversetzen.

Zu Beginn der Festivalwoche diskutiert Arnd Schneider in seiner Keynote Lecture Entangled Restitutions die Stellung von Film im Kontext der Rückgabe von Museumsobjekten und fragt: „Can Film Restitute?“. Im Film Talk spricht Filmemacher Yehuda Sharim über seinen aktuellen Langfilm Letters2Maybe und den Erfahrungen von Migrant*innen in Houston, Texas. Schwerpunkt des Gesprächs sind dabei die künstlerischen und kollaborativen Ansätze seiner Arbeit und die Bedeutung von Nähe und Distanz in Langzeitdokumentarfilmprojekten. Firouzeh Khosrovani erörtert in der heurigen Masterclass zu Radiograph of a Family das filmische Arbeiten mit Archivmaterial und wie sie historische Entwicklungen mit ihrer persönlichen Familiengeschichte künstlerisch neu verknüpft hat. In der Podiumsdiskussion Resources and the Body sprechen Daniel Kötter und Olande Byamungu (Walter & Coltan) mit Saaed Taji Farouky (A thousand Fires) über Extraktivismus und die Folgen der rücksichtslosen Ausbeutung von Menschen und Ressourcen auf unsere Umwelt.

Ein besonderes Highlight bietet das von Katarina Hedrén kuratierte Programm am finalen Tag der ethnocineca unter dem Titel Entangled Realities – Films in Conversation. Basierend auf drei Kurzfilmen aus dem ethnocineca Programm öffnet sie einen Dialog zu drei Langfilmarbeiten, in denen wir uns mit Aspekten der Geschichte des Imperialismus und Postkolonialismus auseinandersetzen. Begleitet wird der Abend von einem hybrid veranstalteten Round Table mit den Filmemacher*innen des Programms, in welchem Begriffe wie Zugehörigkeit, Freiheit, Unabhängigkeit und Verantwortlichkeit hinterfragt werden.

Nach zwei Jahren Pause findet die ethnocineca Filmwerkstatt wieder statt. Die in dem hauseigenen Workshop entstandenen Kurzfilme feiern ihre Premiere im Rahmen des Festivals. Wir freuen uns auch auf regen Austausch mit zahlreichen Leiter*innen europäischer anthropologischer Filmfestivals, die während der Festivalwoche für ein Netzwerktreffen nach Wien kommen. Den feierlichen Höhepunkt der ethnocineca 2022 bildet die Preisverleihung am 17. Mai, im Rahmen derer die Gewinnerfilme der fünf Wettbewerbskategorien ausgezeichnet werden.

Wir bedanken uns bei dem gesamten Team, das auch nach zwei Jahren Pandemie und den damit einhergehenden Einschnitten in unsere Festivalarbeit mit ungebrochenem Engagement arbeitet und so ermöglicht, die ethnocineca 2022 wieder im alten Glanz und mit innovativen Erneuerungen erstrahlen zu lassen. Wir danken außerdem allen Filmemacherinnen und Jurorinnen, allen Fördergeberinnen und Partnerinnen für ihre wertvolle Unterstützung! Wir wünschen viel Vergnügen beim gemeinsamen Eintauchen in die Bilderwelten auf den großen Leinwänden und anregende wie berührende Filmerlebnisse!

Marie-Christine Hartig, Martin Lintner, Katja Seidel

Plakat 2022