About

ETHNOCINECA

International Documentary Film Festival Vienna

Ethnocineca is the largest Austrian festival dedicated exclusively to documentary and ethnographic film. Currently located in the VotivCinema and the Kino deFrance, the 8-day festival has been an integral part of the domestic and international film festival calendar since 2007. The program showcases 50 recent long- and shortfilm productions and its five competition sections highlight trends and excellence of contemporary documentary filmmaking: the International Documentary Award (IDA) honors the best international documentary feature film, while its counterpart, the Austrian Documentary Award (ADA), awards a price to the best Austrian feature length documentary. The Excellence in Visual Anthropology Award (EVA) promotes distinguished ethnographic films and thus the segment of the festival that has been in focus since its foundation. The audience award International Shorts Award (ISA) gives the diverse and lively genre of short film the recognition it deserves. Last but not least, the ethnocinecaas an association for the promotion of audio-visual culture promotes young talents not only with the annual 10-day film workshop in the run-up to the festival but also with the audience award ethnocineca Student Shorts Award (ESSA).

Every year, Numerous international guests, filmmakers and academics attend the festival, and participate in  film talks, master classes and panel discussions and make the ethnocineca a platform for dialogue and engagement with the pressing issues of our time. In addition, year-round initiatives such as film cooperations with other festivals, requested special screenings, film clubs and film series, the 10-days ethnocineca film workshop and the traditional keynote lecture are part of the festival’s extended communication program.

During the festival, a rich side-programme rounds off the festival experience: Discussions, in-depth film talks and guest lectures, an opening ceremony and the award ceremony as well as a closing party are ethnocineca’s festive highlights and create the right festival feeling. They make the festival week a unique experience in a relaxed and open atmosphere that invites you to linger and communicate.

About

ETHNOCINECA

International Documentary Film Festival Vienna

Die ethnocineca ist das größte österreichische Festival, das sich ausschließlich dem Dokumentarfilm und dem ethnographischen Film widmet. Derzeit im Votivkino und im Kino de France beheimatet, ist das 8-tägige Festival seit dem Jahr 2007 fixer Bestandteil des heimischen wie internationalen Filmfestivalkalenders. Im Programm zeigen wir eine Mischung aus 50 rezenten Lang- und Kurzfilmproduktionen, unter welchen fünf Wettbewerbssektionen Schwerpunkte setzen und Einblicke in die Entwicklung zeitgenössischen Dokumentarfilmemachens bieten: der International Documentary Award (IDA) prämiert den besten internationalen Dokumentarlangfilm, während sein Pendant, der Austrian Documentary Award (ADA), den besten österreichischen Langfilm unter allen Einreichungen auszeichnet. Der Excellence in Visual Anthropology Award (EVA) fördert den ethnographischen Film und damit jenes Segment des Festivals, das seit seinen Anfängen im Fokus steht. Die Vergabe des Publikumspreises International Shorts Award (ISA) lässt dem ebenso facettenreichen wie lebendigen Genre des Kurzfilms die ihm gebührende Anerkennung zukommen. Last but not least unterstützt die ethnocineca als Verein zur Förderung audio-visueller Kultur – neben der jährlich stattfindenden 10-tägigen Filmwerkstatt im Vorfeld des Festivals – mit der Vergabe des ethnocineca Student Shorts Award (ESSA) ein klares Zeichen für Nachwuchsförderung. 

Zahlreiche anwesende internationale Gäste, Filmschaffende und AnthropologInnen, die mit uns Filmgespräche, Masterclasses und Podiumsdiskussionen gestalten, machen die ethnocineca zu einer Plattform für Dialog und Beschäftigung mit den drängenden Fragen unserer Zeit. Weiters zählen ganzjährig stattfindende Initiativen wie Filmkooperationen mit anderen Festivals, angefragte Sondervorführungen, Filmklubs und Filmreihen, die ethnocineca Filmwerkstatt und die traditionelle Keynote Lecture zum erweiterten Vermittlungsprogramm des Festivals. 

Während des Festivals rundet ein abwechslungsreiches Rahmenprogramm das Festivalerlebnis ab: Diskussionsrunden, vertiefende Filmgespräche und Gastvorträge sowie die Eröffnungsfeier, Preisverleihung und Abschlussparty sind feierliche Höhepunkte der ethnocinecaund sorgen für das richtige Festivalfeeling. Sie machen die Festivalwoche zu einem einzigartigen Erlebnis in entspannter und offener Atmosphäre, die zum Verweilen und Kommunizieren einlädt.