2021

ETHNOCINECA – ONLINE EDITION

International Documentary Film Festival Vienna 2021

Thursday 6th of May – Thursday 13th of May 2021

The 15th edition of the ethnocineca – International Documentary Film Festival Vienna will take place as an online festival from May 6 – 13, 2021. Over the course of eight days, the ethnocineca Online Edition will showcase contemporary documentary cinema with 20 feature-length and 5 short films. The films present a selection of the total of 52 outstanding documentaries that we had curated for the programme of our anniversary edition that was originally planned for the hybrid edition. The films are accompanied by a series of multifaceted side events, which will also take place online in the form of Live- Events.

Programme Folder (pdf in German)

The ethnocineca Online Edition starts on May 6 with a festive opening evening featuring the European premiere of THRESHOLD by Brazilian filmmaker Coraci Ruiz and the Keynote Lecture by Christos Varvantakis. In this year’s opening film, Ruiz tells an autobiographical story of emancipation, turning points and social upheavals, as well as the struggle for self-determination of three generations of her family. In his keynote lecture, Varvantakis, building on his activist-academic background, illuminates how cultural and social anthropologists use film to make their research heard, especially in times of great change. In the course of the festival week, you can enjoy numerous film discussions, a master class, an in-depth film discussion, various film talks and the award ceremony, during which the winners of the five competition categories are announced.

This year’s theme TURNING POINTS deals with films dedicated to cultural, ecological and socio-political turning points and disruptions and take their dynamics as an opportunity to deal with personal, interpersonal and social changes. We illuminate how documentary filmmaking can help shape or even initiate upheavals or turning points. The theme TURNING POINTS thus stands for the hope of always taking advantage of one’s opportunities – even against all odds – and becoming an active part of great changes.

In this year’s Masterclass with Teboho Edkins, whose filmmaking is represented in the ethnocineca for the third time, we will explore hybrid forms of documentary filmmaking. Teboho Edkins, director of DAYS OF CANNIBALISM, will talk about his cinematic approach to the crossover genre between documentary and feature film.

The Panel Discussion “Body Politics – On Emancipations, Turning Points and Transformations” is dedicated to the cinematic approaches of three directors working in Brazil in their examination of their (own) bodies. In conversation with the filmmakers Coraci Ruiz (THRESHOLD), Moara Passoni (ECSTASY) and Mattijs van de Port (THE BODY WON’T CLOSE), Ana de Almeida will discuss the role of the body as a locus of love and desire, as an expression of and for self-determination and as a resource for resistance and empowerment.

In the Round Table Discussion in cooperation with the CAFFE network (Coordinating Anthropological Film Festivals of Europe), we speak with Peter Crawford (NAFA), Beate Engelbrecht (GIEFF), Barberine Feinberg (Festival Jean Rouch) and Jari Kupiainen (Viscult) about the role of European Ethnographic Film Festivals in the postcolonial engagement with film production and the global distribution of image worlds. We reflect on the mission of anthropological film festivals and outline perspectives for the future.

In this year’s Film Talk, Pavel Borecký speaks about his feature film debut LIVING WATER. As a social anthropologist and audiovisual ethnographer, Borecký devotes his research to the conflict over the last abundant source of drinking water in the Wadi Rum region, which is being fought out between the Jordanian state, agricultural companies and the inhabitants of the town. In cooperation with the Vienna Visual Anthropology Lab (CEU/IKSA) we discuss new forms of ethnographic filmmaking and explore the ecographic and geopoetic dimensions offered in the documentary LIVING WATER.

On Tuesday, May 11, 2021, the Award Ceremony will take place as a live-event. Notwithstanding the Corona pandemic, and despite the festival’s shift to virtual space, the five ethnocineca film awards will be handed out to the winners. The categories International Documentary Award (IDA), Austrian Documentary Award (ADA), Excellence in Visual Anthropology Award (EVA), International Shorts Award (ISA) and ethnocineca Student Shorts Award (ESSA) underline the excellence of these outstanding productions.

We look forward to bringing a little festival feeling into your living rooms and onto your displays. We hope you enjoy the films of the ethnocineca Online Edition and wish you exciting exchanges at the live events.

Marie-Christine Hartig, Martin Lintner, Katja Seidel
Artistic Directors

2021

ETHNOCINECA – ONLINE EDITION

International Documentary Film Festival Vienna 2021

Donnerstag 6. bis Donnerstag 13. Mai 2021

Die 15. Ausgabe der ethnocineca – International Documentary Film Festival Vienna findet als Online Festival von 6. bis 13. Mai 2021 statt. An 8 Tagen zeigt die ethnocineca Online Edition mit 20 Lang- und 5 Kurzfilmen aktuelles Dokumentarfilmkino. Die Filme sind eine Auswahl aus insgesamt 52 herausragenden Dokumentarfilmen, die wir für das ursprünglich in den Kinos geplante Programm unserer Jubiläumsedition kuratiert hatten. Begleitet werden die Filme von einem umfangreichen Rahmenprogramm, das ebenfalls online in Form von Live-Events stattfinden wird. 

Programmheft

Unter Anwesenheit der Filmemacherin startet die ethnocineca Online Edition am 6. Mai mit einem feierlichen Eröffnungsabend mit der Europapremiere von THRESHOLD der brasilianischen Filmemacherin Coraci Ruiz und einer Keynote Lecture von Christos Varvantakis. Ruiz erzählt autobiographisch im diesjährigen Eröffnungsfilm von Emanzipationsprozessen, Wendepunkten und gesellschaftlichen Umbrüchen, sowie dem Kampf um Selbstbestimmtheit dreier Generationen ihrer Familie. Varvantakis beleuchtet in seinem Vortrag, aufbauend auf seiner aktivistisch-akademischen Grenzwanderung, wie Kultur- und Sozialanthropolog*innen ihren Forschungsarbeiten gerade in Zeiten großer Veränderungen mittels Film Gehör verschaffen.

Im Laufe der Festivalwoche folgen zahlreiche Filmgespräche, eine Masterclass, vertiefende Diskussionsrunden und Talks sowie die Preisverleihung zu den fünf Wettbewerbskategorien.

Der diesjährige Programmschwerpunkt TURNING POINTS beschäftigt sich mit Filmen, die sich kulturellen, ökoglobalen und soziopolitischen Wendepunkten und Kehrtwenden widmen und deren Dynamiken zum Anlass für die Auseinandersetzung mit persönlichen, zwischenmenschlichen und gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen nehmen. Wir beleuchten, wie das dokumentarische Filmschaffen Umbrüche oder Wendepunkte mitgestalten oder sogar initiieren kann. Unser Programmschwerpunkt steht somit auch für die Hoffnung, stets seine Chancen – auch entgegen aller Erfolgsaussichten – zu nutzen und ein aktiver Teil großer Veränderungen zu werden. 

In der diesjährigen Masterclass mit Teboho Edkins, der 2021 bereits mit seinem dritten Film im Programm der ethnocineca vertreten ist, setzen wir uns mit hybriden Formen des Dokumentarfilms auseinander. Teboho Edkins, Regisseur des Programmfilms DAYS OF CANNIBALISM, spricht über seinen filmischen Zugang zu dem Crossover Genre zwischen Dokumentar- und Spielfilm. 

Die Podiumsdiskussion „Body Politics – Über Emanzipationen, Wendepunkte und Transformationen” widmet sich den filmischen Zugängen dreier in Brasilien arbeitenden Regisseur*innen in der Auseinandersetzung mit dem (eigenen) Körper. Im Gespräch erörtert Ana de Almeida mit den Filmemacher*innen Coraci Ruiz (THRESHOLD), Moara Passoni (ECSTASY) und Mattijs van de Port (THE BODY WON’T CLOSE) die Rolle des Körpers als Ort der Liebe und des Begehrens, als Ausdrucksfläche von und für Selbstbestimmung und als Ressource für Widerstand und Empowerment.

In der Round Table Discussion in Kooperation mit dem CAFFE-Netzwerk (Coordinating Anthropological Film Festivals of Europe) erörtern wir gemeinsam mit Peter Crawford (NAFA), Beate Engelbrecht (GIEFF), Barberine Feinberg (Festival International Jean Rouch) und Jari Kupiainen (Viscult) die Rolle Europäischer Ethnographischen Film Festivals in der postkolonialen Auseinandersetzung mit Filmproduktion und globaler Distribution von Bilderwelten. Wir reflektieren über den Auftrag anthropologischer Filmfestivals und entwerfen Perspektiven für die Zukunft. 

Im Film Talk spricht Pavel Borecký zu seinem Langfilmdebüt LIVING WATER. Als Sozialanthropologe und audiovisueller Ethnograf widmet sich Borecký in seiner Forschung dem Konflikt um die letzte reichhaltige Trinkwasserquelle der Region des Wadi Rum, der zwischen dem jordanischen Staat, landwirtschaftlichen Unternehmen und den Bewohner*innen der Stadt ausgetragen wird. In Kooperation mit dem Vienna Visual Anthropology Lab diskutieren wir neue Formen des ethnographischen Films und erkunden die ökographischen und geopoetischen Dimensionen im Dokumentarfilm LIVING WATER. 

Am Dienstag, den 11. Mai, findet die Award Ceremony ebenfalls als Live-Event statt. Auch in diesem von der Corona-Pandemie geprägten Jahr, werden die fünf ethnocineca Filmpreise trotz der Verlagerung des Festivals in den virtuellen Raum vergeben. Die Kategorien International Documentary Award (IDA), Austrian Documentary Award (ADA), Excellence in Visual Anthropology Award (EVA), International Shorts Award (ISA) sowie ethnocineca Student Shorts Award (ESSA) unterstreichen die Exzellenz dieser hervorragenden Produktionen. 

Wir freuen uns, mit der ethnocineca Online Edition zur 15ten Jubiläumsausgabe etwas Kinoatmosphäre in die Wohnzimmer und auf die Displays bringen zu können und wünschen gute Unterhaltung mit den Filmen und spannenden Austausch bei den Live-Events.

Marie-Christine Hartig, Martin Lintner, Katja Seidel
Künstlerische Leitung